The Royal Entomological Society Book of British Insects by Peter C. Barnard

The Royal Entomological Society Book of British Insects
Author: Peter C. Barnard
Release at: 2011
Pages: 397
Edition: First Edition
Language: English

Description of The Royal Entomological Society Book of British Insects

The Royal Entomological Society Book of British Insects by Peter C. Barnard is a great book for British insects studies. In 2007 the Royal Entomological Society (RES) took the momentous decision to move from central London to a more rural environment near St Albans in Hertfordshire, the fi rst time that the Society had left London since its foundation in 1833. The move was seen as controversial by some, although the new headquarters are close to the London Orbital M25 motorway and only just outside the Greater London conurbation. Apart from the fi nancial relief of no longer having to maintain an impressive but aged building in South Kensington, the sale of 41 Queen ’ s Gate realized a substantial capital sum that enabled the RES to press ahead with several new projects, such as the appointment of the fi rst full - time entomologist in residence.

This book is one of the tangible products funded by the move out of London and it represents part of the re - positioning of the RES as the central hub of information on British insects, as well as maintaining its role as the premier society for professional entomologists. The book is designed as a key reference work for professional entomologists as well as being a readable and attractively illustrated account for the interested student of insects. It helps to bridge the gap between the popular but incomplete guides to the more conspicuous groups of British insects and the highly specialized works that currently can cover only a fraction of the entire fauna. Of these detailed works the most prestigious are, of course, the Society ’ s own long Preface standing series Handbooks for the Identifi cation of British Insects.

Content of The Royal Entomological Society Book of British Insects

Chapter 1: General introduction


Chapter 2: Order Collembola: the springtails

Chapter 3: Order Diplura: the two-tailed or two-pronged bristletails

Chapter 4: Order Protura: the proturans


Chapter 5: Order Archaeognatha or Microcoryphia: the bristletails

Chapter 6: Order Zygentoma: the silverfish and firebrats


Chapter 7: Order Ephemeroptera: the mayflies or upwing flies

Chapter 8: Order Odonata: the dragonflies and damselflies


Chapter 9: Order Dermaptera: the earwigs

Chapter 10: Order Dictyoptera: the cockroaches, termites and mantids

Chapter 11: Order Orthoptera: the grasshoppers, crickets and bush-crickets

Chapter 12: Order Phasmida: the stick-insects

Chapter 13: Order Plecoptera: the stoneflies


Chapter 14: Order Hemiptera: the true bugs

Chapter 15: Order Phthiraptera: the sucking and biting lice

Chapter 16: Order Psocoptera: the booklice and barklice

Chapter 17: Order Thysanoptera: the thrips


Chapter 18: Order Coleoptera: the beetles

Chapter 19: Order Diptera: the true flies

Chapter 20: Order Hymenoptera: the ants, bees and wasps

Chapter 21: Order Lepidoptera: the butterflies and moths

Chapter 22: Order Mecoptera: the scorpionflies

Chapter 23: Order Megaloptera: the alderflies

Chapter 24: Order Neuroptera: the lacewings

Chapter 25: Order Raphidioptera: the snakeflies

Chapter 26: Order Siphonaptera: the fleas

Chapter 27: Order Strepsiptera: the stylops

Chapter 28: Order Trichoptera: the caddisflies or sedge flies


Similar Books